Planning Commission


The next regular scheduled meeting will be held remotely via Zoom. 

To join the meeting, please click here and you will be redirected to the scheduled Zoom meeting. You may also join by telephone by calling (253) 215-8782 and using the Meeting ID 841 8070 7197.

Joint Parks Board and Planning Commission Meeting

A special joint Parks Board and Planning Commission Meeting will be held on Monday November 15, 2021 from 5pm to 6:30pm via Zoom.

Click HERE to join the Zoom meeting

Notice of Special Meeting

Open Public Meeting Guidance 

  • Per the Governor’s Proclamation 20-28.14 issued June 30, 2021: all meetings subject to the OPMA must remain open to the public through remote means.  In-person meetings are permitted subject to the conditions in Proclamation 20.28-14 pages 3 and 4.  Find the full Proclamation here.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available upon adoption.
For Agendas and Minutes since January 1, 2021, please visit the City's new Agenda Center.
For Agendas and Minutes prior to January 1, 2021, please visit the Agendas & Minutes Archive.


Audio is available after the meetings.
Most Recent Audio | View All


The Planning Commission reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council concerning land use issues including zoning, code changes, and revisions to the comprehensive plan.


The planning commission is composed of seven members. All members shall reside within the city limits of the city of Monroe, except the mayor may appoint and the city council confirm one commissioner from the city of Monroe’s urban growth area to fill a vacant position. The planning commission may designate one of its members to act as secretary, without salary, or, if requested by the commission, the mayor shall designate a member of the paid staff of the city to serve as such secretary. The commission meets the second and fourth Monday’s of the month at 7 p.m.


The members are appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The term of office for each appointed commission member shall be four years, and expiration of terms of office shall be set forth so that each position shall expire in rotation on December 31st in each succeeding year, so that the fewest possible terms will expire in any one year.

These are the members of the current Planning Commission.
Commissioner Term Expires
Michael Stanger December 2021
Dionne Miller December 2022
Kyle Fisher December 2023
Bridgette Tuttle December 2023
Elly Britt December 2024
W. Jay Bull, Jr. December 2024
Liz Nugent December 2024

Board Responsibilities

The city council may refer to the planning commission for its recommendation and report any ordinance, resolution, or other proposal relating to any of the matters and subjects referred to in Chapter 35A.63 RCW, as amended, and the commission shall promptly report to the council thereon, making such recommendations and giving such counsel as it may deem proper. 

The planning commission, at or before its first regular meeting in September of each year, shall make a full report in writing to the city council of its transactions and expenditures, if any, for the calendar year preceding, with such general recommendations as to matters covered by its prescribed duties and authority as may seem proper to it.

Accommodations for people with disabilities will be provided upon request. Call City Hall at 360-794-7400 and please allow one-week advance notice.

Planning Commission Rules of Procedure (PDF)