Concealed Pistol License


Applications for Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL) will be accepted Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Applicants must be:

  • 21 years of age
  • A United States citizen
  • A resident within the city limits of the City of Monroe or be a non-resident of the State of Washington

City of Monroe residents may also apply for Concealed Pistol Licenses on the fourth floor of the Snohomish County Courthouse. Fingerprints are required for new licenses. Applications are available at the front desk and must be completed for all licenses. Payment of fees are payable upon application and are non-refundable. Licenses are valid for five years from the date of issue.

Armed Forces Renewal (Out of State Deployment)

Currently deployed members of the Armed Forces, including the National Guard and Armed Forces Reserves, who are deployed out of state, can renew their concealed pistol license by mail.  This must be done within 90 days of the expiration of the existing concealed pistol license.  The fee for this type of renewal is $32 plus a late fee of $10 if applicable.  The license in this circumstance is only valid for a period of one year.

To renew the Concealed Pistol License in this circumstance, contact the Monroe Police Department Records Unit at (360) 794-6300 or via email at  We will send you the application either electronically or via standard mail.  Completed applications must be submitted with a copy of your original order, designating the period of deployment, a copy of a valid government issued ID, and a check payable to the City of Monroe for the renewal fee.

The law also allows for members of the Armed Forces to renew their license within 90 days of the expiration if they were deployed but have since returned to the state.  A copy of the original deployment order is still required.  In this case, the late fee is waived and the standard renewal fee of $32 applies.

Effective January 1, 2019, Concealed Pistol License fees are:

License TypeFee
Renewal (within 90 days prior to expiration)$32.00
Late Renewal (within 90 days after expiration)$42.00
Replacement (lost or stolen)$10.00

The application process may take up to 30 days. Additional information may be obtained from the Washington State Department of Licensing.